MEETING MINUTES

Engineering Faculty Council

Date: August 23, 2022 **Time:** 11:00 AM – 11:40 AM

Location: Zoom

Attendees: Puneet Singla, Shelley Stoffels, Lucas Passmore, Tom Skibinski, Tonya Peeples, Alok Sinha,

Amanda Johnsen, Christine Masters, Ivan Esparragoza, Jalynn Burrus, Jared Butler, Jeffrey Catchmark, Jesse Barlow, Nathaniel Bohna, Qiushi Chen, Rob Leicht, Robert Rabb, Sachin Gore, Sarah Zappe, Stephanie Velegol, Tracey Carbonetto, Lance Lian, Daning Huang,

Swaroop Ghosh, Lisa Petrine, Christine Luzier

Synopsis:

1. Puneet Singla called the meeting to order and asked for approval to record – Approved.

- 2. Puneet indicated this is his last meeting as Chair. He will assume the role of Ex-Chair for this coming academic year.
- 3. Puneet offered the following:
 - EFC Officers for the 2022 2023 Academic Year will be elected towards the end of today's meeting.
 - He was able to give everyone their first committee choice based upon survey results. He
 will discuss the selection of the Committee Chairs and the committee assignments with
 the newly elected Chair.
- 4. Dean's Report Shelley Stoffels for Anthony Atchley:
 - Anthony Atchley is now the Acting Dean of the College due to Justin Schwartz's move to Interim Provost.
 - Shelley is now the new Associate Dean for Faculty, a new position in the Dean's office.
 She will be providing primary support to the EFC.
 - Christine Luzier and Jody Rogers will be providing support to Shelley and EFC.
 - Other Deans will continue to support the various EFC committees.
 - Lisa Petrine is the new Undergraduate Committee Liaison.
 - Revised P&T Guidelines published on the COE website under the Faculty Resources and Strategic Plan. They can also be found in the Equity Action Plan. The new guidelines reflect current practices over the last few years. Expectations and assessments have changed. Full Professor criteria now in line with university requirements. New faculty hired July 1, 2022 or later, need to follow the new guidelines. Second or third year, the default is the new guidelines; however, there can be exceptions to use the old guidelines. Fourth or fifth year can choose old or new guidelines. Sixth year will use the old guidelines but exceptions to use the new ones will be considered. Department Heads will send requests for external letters and they must comply with the guidelines being used.
 - Andrew Zydney from Chemical Engineering is the new ombudsperson due to Dan Hayes being named the BME Department Head. Andrew will serve a one-year term. COE would

like to have three ombudsperson, each with three year terms in a staggered arrangement. One ombudsperson will be elected each year.

- 5. Undergraduate Studies Committee Ivan Esparragoza
 - Lisa Petrine will be developing the meeting schedule for the USC and needs the list of the new committee members.
- 6. Equity and Inclusion Committee Tonya Peeples
 - Equity Action Plan is published and on the COE website. Implementation of the plan is underway. Support for the committee is still being worked out.
- 7. Academic Integrity Committee Christine Masters
 - AIC looking for new members and if you or anyone you know has an interest, please reach out. Christine will be sending out requests to the Department Heads.
- 8. Graduate Studies and Research Committee Puneet Singla
 - <u>EE 531 Engineering Electromagnetics Course Change</u> Approved via electronic vote (14 yes; 4 abstain)
 - ME 592 Advanced Academic Writing and Communications for Mechanical Engineers –
 <u>New Course</u> A discussion ensued on this course and its possible application to other
 Departments. Should it be the same course offered or should each Department have its
 own? Tonya Peeples indicated there is another course which may be similar. After a
 lengthy discussion, Puneet recommended the course go back to the committee for
 further review and additional consultation as warranted.
- 9. EFC Elections Puneet Singla
 - There is only one candidate for Chair, and it is Rob Leicht. Rob presented his background and qualifications to the EFC. An electronic vote was taken and 16 "Yes" votes were cast for Rob, which elected him as the new Chair.
 - There are two candidates for Vice-Chair Stephanie Velegol and Lucas Passmore. Both candidates presented their backgrounds and qualifications. An electronic vote was taken, and Stephanie received 12 "Yes" votes, electing her to Vice-Chair.
 - There is only one candidate for Secretary, and it is Tom Skibinski. Tom presented his background and qualifications to the EFC. An electronic vote was taken and 15 "Yes" votes were cast for Tom, which elected him as the new Secretary.
 - Puneet will assume the role of Ex-Chair for the upcoming academic year.
 - The newly elected officers and the Ex-Chair become part of the EFC Planning Committee.
- 10. Faculty Senate Alok Sinha
 - Nothing to report
- 11. New Business Puneet Singla
 - No new business
- 12. Meeting adjourned

Meeting Minutes prepared by: Thomas J. Skibinski, Secretary